JUDGES from across the industry have drawn up a shortlist for the 2015 NCTJ Awards for Excellencefrom an entry of more than 220 award hopefuls.

The number of award entries have continued to grow year-on-year, with 2015 having the highest number of entries since the awards were launched in 2008.

The awards are open to students on NCTJ-accredited courses or NCTJ distance learning courses and trainees with less than two years’ experience in journalism who have completed the Diploma in Journalism.

All shortlisted candidates will be invited to a gala dinner and awards ceremony at theLibrary of Birmingham on 26 November as guests of the NCTJ and sponsors, NFL UK. The winners will be announced at the ceremony, hosted by BBC presenter Nick Owenas part of the NCTJ Journalism Skills Conference.

The shortlist is as follows:

  • Student news journalism: Gabriella Lee University of Salford; Chloe McNab Nottingham Trent University; Andre-Rhoden Paul University of Sheffield
  • Trainee news journalism: Henry Holloway The Argus; John Lucas Braintree and Witham Times; Florence Snead Cambridge News
  • Student sports journalism: Andy Donley News Associates Manchester; Aaron Fowler News Associates London; Michael Hincks News Associates Manchester; Michel Steward St Mary’s University
  • Trainee sports journalism: Nemesha Balasundaram Irish Post; Daniel Prince Shields Gazette
  • Student top scoop/exclusive: Leonie Chao Fong News Associates London; Shanti Das Brighton Journalist Works; Colan Lamont Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Trainee top scoop/exclusive: Jordan Bluer Dover Express; Simon Murfitt Brentwood Gazette; George Odling Richmond and Twickenham Times
  • Student features of the year: Catrina Cochrane Glasgow Clyde College; Robbie Gordon University of Sheffield; Yvette Tan University of Sheffield
  • Trainee features of the year: Naomi Firsht Jewish Chronicle; Conor Gaffey Newsweek Europe; Rosie Hopegood Love Sunday Magazine and Notebook Magazine
  • Student Multimedia story/campaign of the year: Sophie Grubb University of Sheffield; Andre Rhoden-Paul University of Sheffield
  • Trainee Multimedia story/campaign of the year: Anna Bruce Anna Bruce Photography; Sophie Mei Lan Slack BBC Journalism Trainee Scheme
  • Student project of the year: Mama University of Sheffield; The North Crowd Teesside University; The S Word University of Sheffield

The 2015 awards judges are:

Laura Adams, digital editorial director, Archant London;

Brien Beharrell, vice-chairman, NCTJ;

David Brine, features editor, Daily Echo;

Clare Bouke, examiner, NCTJ;

John Burton, former sports editor, Daily Express;

Sue Campbell, director, NCTJ; Matt Clark, publisher, The Greenwich Visitor;

Steve Dyson, media trainer and freelance journalist;

Brian Flynn, investigative journalist, The Sun;

Jamie Macaskill, deputy editor, Hull Daily Mail;

Steve Panter, former MEN reporter and journalism lecturer;

David Rowell, director, NCTJ;

Alice Ryan, head of magazines and features, Cambridge Newspapers;

Mark Thomas, former editor, Daily Post;

Laurie Tucker, day editor and journalism training, Sky Sports News;

Neil White, editor-in-chief, Derby Telegraph